How do I cancel a website contract in the UK? The three sentences that decide it, and the 14 days you do not have

Almost everyone trying to get out of a website contract starts by counting to fourteen. Fourteen days is the cooling-off period, it is real, and for a tradesman who bought the site for his business it almost certainly does not apply. The law that creates it protects consumers, and a UK sole trader buying a website for the trade is buying as a business.

That sounds like bad news and it is mostly useful news. It means the way out is written in your contract rather than in an Act of Parliament, so you can read it tonight. It usually comes down to three sentences: how long you are tied in, how much notice you have to give and in what form, and what you owe if you leave before the end.

Find those three and the rest is a date in the diary, the domain in your own name, and one letter sent the right way.

Quick answer

By giving the notice your contract asks for, in the form it asks for, before the date it names. A tradesman who bought a website for his business is not a consumer, so the 14-day cooling-off period in UK consumer law does not apply. Your exit is the minimum term, the notice clause and any early exit charge, which run from nothing to 80% of what is left.

Why the 14-day cooling-off period is not yours

The 14-day right to cancel a service belongs to consumers, and both the Consumer Rights Act 2015 and the Consumer Contracts Regulations 2013 define a consumer as an individual acting for purposes wholly or mainly outside their trade, business, craft or profession. A website bought for your trade business is inside it.

The wording is identical in both. Section 2 of the Consumer Rights Act 2015 defines a consumer as "an individual acting for purposes that are wholly or mainly outside that individual's trade, business, craft or profession". The fourteen days themselves sit in regulation 30 of the 2013 Regulations, where for a service "the cancellation period ends at the end of 14 days after the day on which the contract is entered into". Citizens Advice describes the same right, in its consumer section, for "a service you've arranged online, over the phone or by mail-order".

The one argument people reach for

Section 2(4) puts the burden on the seller: a trader claiming you were not acting as a consumer "must prove it". On a website that carries your trading name, your Gas Safe number and your phone line, that proof is the website. Do not build a plan on it.

Six UK providers, six different ways out

On 11 September 2026 I read the published exit terms of six UK companies that sell websites to trades. The notice they ask for runs from none at all to 30 days in writing, and one charges 80% of the outstanding charges to leave early.

Published exit terms, read 11 September 2026
ProviderTied in forNotice, and howLeave early and you pay
Yell, Amplify with website12-month initial period, then monthlyBy phone, 14 days before the period ends80% of the outstanding charges, plus VAT and third-party costs
Ubie WebsitesSet on your registration form, not published30 days in writing, by email, after the minimumThe rest of the minimum term's fees, less costs they save
Digital TradiesRolling monthly unless a fixed term is specified30 days in writingNo refund for the current billing period
BUILT for TradesNo minimum on a website planEmail, call or message; ends with the billing periodNothing, and a full refund if unhappy in the first 90 days
BoostMyTrade"No contract"Stops at the end of the billing period"No cancellation fee"
One Base Media"No contracts" on pay monthlyNot stated on the pay monthly pageNot stated
Sitework, mineThree months, then rollingIn writing; ends with the paid periodNothing, but inside twelve months the site comes offline unless we agree a handover

Two things jump out. First, "cancel any time" and "30 days in writing" are different offers, and a provider can print the first on its pricing page and the second in section 8 of its terms. Neither is dishonest, but only one of them decides your last payment. Second, the two rows with a real exit charge are the two where the minimum term does the selling. Yell is the extreme because it is not selling a website at all, which is why a Yell website has no price of its own.

Mine is in the table on purpose. Three months minimum is a tie-in, and if you leave inside the first year the hosted site goes offline unless we agree a handover. That is the clause I would want a customer to read before signing, so it is here too.

What leaving early actually costs, worked through

Leaving Yell's Amplify four payments into its twelve-month initial period costs £1,913.60 before VAT under clause 19.4 of Yell's advertising terms, and the service stops the day you leave.

Ending a Yell Amplify plan after four payments

Published entry price£299 a month
Payments already made4, so £1,196
Payments still outstanding8, so £2,392
Clause 19.4 charge, 80% of outstanding£1,913.60
On topVAT and any third-party costs
Service you get for itNone. "We will cease to provide the Services"

Worked from the published entry price and the clause wording, not from anybody's invoice. Your order form sets your real dates and figures.

The clause is candid about why: the initial period and its charges "have been set having regard to the cost of providing the Services". It also says any advertisement Yell created "shall not be transferrable to you when terminated during any part of the Initial Period". Whether that covers your site is a question for your own order form, and worth asking before you ring.

For scale, £1,913.60 is more than most trades should pay for a year of website, and what a plumber's website should cost sets out why. Ubie's version is softer on paper, the remaining fees "less any costs we reasonably save", and that phrase is your lever: ask them in writing what the saved costs are.

Stopping the Direct Debit is not cancelling

Cancelling the Direct Debit stops the collection, not the contract, and on some terms it makes things worse: Yell's clause 19.4 treats a missed instalment in the initial period as you ending the agreement, which brings the 80% charge with it.

The Direct Debit Guarantee says you can cancel "at any time by simply contacting your bank or building society", and it gives a full refund "if an error is made in the payment". An error. Wanting out of a contract is not one, so the debt carries on and arrives as an invoice, then a letter. Stop the payment after the notice has taken effect, never instead of it.

When a business buyer can still get out early

Without a cooling-off period there are three routes: hit the notice date exactly, negotiate an exit in writing, or challenge a standard term under the Unfair Contract Terms Act 1977. Only the first is simple.

Hit the notice date exactly

Most people who get stuck for another month did not lack a right, they missed a date. Yell's clause 19.6 asks for notice "14 days prior to expiry of the Initial Period or end of the then current Service Month", and late notice takes effect "as of the end of the next Service Month". Count back from the anniversary on your order form, put the date in your phone, and give notice a week before it.

Ask for the exit in writing

A provider losing a customer in month five would often rather take a smaller sum now than chase a larger one. Put an offer in an email: the month you want to finish, what you will pay, and that you want the domain released. The worst answer is the clause you already had.

Standard terms still have to be reasonable

Where you signed a provider's own printed terms, section 3 of the Unfair Contract Terms Act 1977 applies when one party "deals on the other's written standard terms of business", and a term letting the provider deliver something "substantially different from that which was reasonably expected of him" must meet "the requirement of reasonableness". Section 11 puts the job of proving that on the provider: "It is for those claiming that a contract term or notice satisfies the requirement of reasonableness to show that it does."

0 daysStatutory cooling-off a trade business gets on a website bought for the trade
30 daysWritten notice two of the six providers ask for
80%Of outstanding charges to leave Yell's initial period early

Read the right guidance. Most of what turns up in a search for unfair terms is the CMA's guidance, and the CMA's own short guide opens by saying the Consumer Rights Act 2015 "sets out the law on the use of unfair contract terms in consumer contracts". It is not about you. The 1977 Act is, and it covers England, Wales and Northern Ireland, with Scotland under its own part. Arguing that a clause is unreasonable is a solicitor's job, not a web designer's, and not a letter to write on your own.

Get the domain out before you send the notice

A notice can switch a site off before the domain is safe, so find out whose name the registration is in first. Ubie's terms, for example, hold the domain in its own registrar account for the whole minimum term.

Terms run from that to BUILT's free transfer within 60 days of cancelling, and £40 plus VAT after. Ring the registrar named in the domain record, confirm the registrant, and ask for the transfer code before the service ends. If nobody at the old company is answering, the full route is in transferring a domain when your designer will not reply.

The notice to send, line by line

One notice, sent the way the contract says, then confirmed by email the same day. A phone call with no written record is the most common reason an exit date gets argued about later.

  • 1. Your name, your business name, the account number and the service exactly as it is named on the order form.
  • 2. One plain sentence: you are giving notice to end the agreement under the clause, quoting its number.
  • 3. The date you believe the agreement ends, worked from that clause, so any disagreement surfaces now.
  • 4. A request for the domain transfer code, or confirmation that the domain is already in your name.
  • 5. A request for the final amount owed, itemised, and confirmation that no further payment will be taken after it.
  • 6. A request to confirm receipt and the end date in writing within seven days.

If the contract says notice is by phone, as Yell's does, ring first, note the time and the name of whoever took it, and send the email straight after. Keep everything in one folder. If the reply disputes the end date, that is the moment to pay a solicitor for an hour, not six weeks later.

Where my own terms sit

Sitework's terms are a three-month minimum, then rolling, cancelled in writing at the end of the paid period, with the site and the domain transferred to you at twelve months with no exit fee.

The catch is the one in the table: leave inside the first year and the hosted site comes offline unless we agree a handover. I would rather you read that here than find it later. What that buys a single trade, a bathroom fitter for example, is laid out on the websites for bathroom fitters page.

My end of it: a free mockup of your actual business before you cancel anything or pay anyone, so you are never without a site in between. No deposit and no build fee, then £50 every four weeks covering the site, hosting, the domain, SSL, backups and unlimited small edits.

Cancelling a website contract: FAQ

Can I cancel a website contract within 14 days?

Not as a right, if you bought the website for your business. The 14-day cooling-off period comes from UK consumer law, and both the Consumer Rights Act 2015 and the Consumer Contracts Regulations 2013 define a consumer as an individual acting for purposes wholly or mainly outside their trade or business. A tradesman buying a site for his trade is outside that definition, so the way out is whatever the contract itself says.

How much notice do I have to give to cancel a Yell website?

On a monthly rolling term after the initial period, Yell's advertising terms ask for notice by telephone to 0800 555 444, quoting your account number, 14 days before the initial period or the current service month ends. Give it late and it takes effect at the end of the next service month. Leaving during the initial period costs 80% of the outstanding charges under clause 19.4, so check your order form for the dates first.

What happens if I just cancel the Direct Debit?

The payments stop and the contract does not. The Direct Debit Guarantee gives you a full refund when an error is made, not when you want to leave, and cancelling at your bank ends only the collection. Some terms treat a missed payment as you ending the agreement: Yell's clause 19.4 says non-payment during the initial period is deemed termination, which brings the 80% early exit charge with it.

Can a web design company charge me to leave early?

Yes, if the contract says so, and business contracts often do. Of six UK trade website providers whose terms we read on 11 September 2026, two charge for leaving during a minimum term: one takes 80% of the outstanding charges, the other the remaining fees less costs it saves. In England and Wales a standard term still has to be reasonable, but testing that is a solicitor's job, not a letter you write yourself.

Do I keep my domain if I cancel my website contract?

Only if it is registered in your name, so find that out before you send notice. Terms differ widely: one provider we read holds the domain in its own registrar account for the whole minimum term, another transfers it free within 60 days of cancelling and charges £40 plus VAT after that. Ring the registrar named in the domain record, confirm whose name the registration is in, and get the transfer code before the service ends.

Sources
  1. Consumer Rights Act 2015, section 2, for the definition of a consumer as "an individual acting for purposes that are wholly or mainly outside that individual's trade, business, craft or profession" and subsection (4), a trader claiming otherwise "must prove it". Read 11 September 2026. legislation.gov.uk
  2. Consumer Contracts (Information, Cancellation and Additional Charges) Regulations 2013, regulation 4 for the same consumer definition and regulation 30(2), "the cancellation period ends at the end of 14 days after the day on which the contract is entered into". Read 11 September 2026. legislation.gov.uk
  3. Citizens Advice, "Cancelling a service you've arranged", for the 14-day cooling-off period on "a service you've arranged online, over the phone or by mail-order". Read 11 September 2026. citizensadvice.org.uk
  4. Competition and Markets Authority, "Unfair contracts: what do businesses need to know? (short guide)", CMA37, updated 22 July 2026, for "The Consumer Rights Act 2015 sets out the law on the use of unfair contract terms in consumer contracts." gov.uk
  5. Unfair Contract Terms Act 1977, section 3 for dealing "on the other's written standard terms of business" and "the requirement of reasonableness", and section 11(5), "It is for those claiming that a contract term or notice satisfies the requirement of reasonableness to show that it does." Read 11 September 2026. legislation.gov.uk
  6. Yell, Advertising Terms and Conditions, clause 19.4 (80% of the outstanding Initial Period charges, non-payment deemed termination, advertisements not transferable), clause 19.6(b) (notice by telephone to 0800 555 444, 14 days before the end of the Initial Period or Service Month) and the Amplify service rules (12-month Initial Period, then a Monthly Rolling Term). Read 11 September 2026. business.yell.com
  7. Ubie Websites, Terms and Conditions, for the minimum term set on the Registration Form, "at least 30 days' written notice", notices "in writing and sent to the billing or admin email addresses", remaining minimum-term fees due "less any costs we reasonably save", and the domain "held in our registrar account during the minimum term". Read 11 September 2026. ubiewebsites.co.uk
  8. Digital Tradies, Terms of Service (last updated February 2025), section 2, rolling monthly "unless a fixed term is specified", and section 8, "30 days' written notice" and "No refunds are given for the current billing period". Read 11 September 2026. digitaltradies.com
  9. BUILT, Terms of Service (last updated 28 August 2026), for no minimum term unless stated, "You can cancel at any time by emailing, calling or messaging us", the 90-day refund, and free domain transfer within 60 days of cancelling, £40 plus VAT after. Read 11 September 2026. builtfortrades.co.uk
  10. BoostMyTrade homepage, for "No contract, no lock-in, no cancellation fee" and "If you cancel, your services stop at the end of your billing period." Read 11 September 2026. boostmytrade.com
  11. One Base Media, pay monthly websites page, for "there are no contracts, meaning you have the freedom to cancel at any time". Read 11 September 2026. onebasemedia.co.uk
  12. Direct Debit, "The Direct Debit Guarantee", for "If an error is made in the payment of your Direct Debit" and "You can cancel a Direct Debit at any time by simply contacting your bank or building society." Read 11 September 2026. directdebit.co.uk
  13. Sitework, Terms and Conditions, clause 7, for the three-month minimum, cancellation in writing at the end of the paid period, the site taken offline on cancellation inside twelve months unless a handover is agreed, and the transfer of site and domain after twelve months. sitework.uk/terms
Done-for-you · £50 every four weeks

See the new site before you give notice on the old one Free mockup first

Send me your trade and your towns and I will build a free mockup of your actual business before you cancel anything or pay anything, so there is no gap with no website in between. No deposit and no build fee: £50 every four weeks covers the site, hosting, the domain, SSL, backups and unlimited small text and photo edits, with three months minimum and then rolling. If you do not like the finished site your first payment comes back, and after twelve months the website and the domain are yours to keep with no exit fee. Live in about a week.